Sign me up for updates. Signup now

You are here

The U.S. Department of Energy Announces Winners of Prestigious Housing Innovation Awards

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced the winners of its 2017 Housing Innovation Awards. This year's winners include 26 homes across 5 housing categories (Affordable Homes, Multi-Family Homes, Production Homes, Custom Homes (Buyers), and Custom Homes (Spec)) and 24 builders from across the country.
Grand Winners for each category are selected by a distinguished group of national experts and will be announced at the 2017 Housing Innovation Awards Ceremony. This event is scheduled for Wednesday, October 11th at the Energy and Environmental Building Alliance's High Performance Home Summit in Atlanta, Georgia.
Homes receive this award by meeting the rigorous technical requirements of DOE's Zero Energy Ready Home program. Homes earning this recognition are so energy efficient that they are able to produce as much energy as they use with a small, renewable energy system, such as solar, and offer better indoor air quality and long-term durability.
"Housing Innovation Award winners represent the top 1% of builders across the country who successfully demonstrate they can meet the federal government's most rigorous specifications for high-performance homes," said Sam Rashkin, Chief Architect at DOE's Building Technologies Office. "Zero energy ready homes are designed to provide a whole new level of homeowner experience including ultra-low utility bills, ensured comfort, comprehensive water protection, whole-house fresh air delivery, high-capture filtration, contaminant control, and enhanced durability."
"These winners are leading a national movement to zero energy ready homes, providing better places for Americans to live, stronger communities, and a more economically and environmentally resilient nation," said Rashkin.
A complete list of the 2017 Housing Innovation Award winners is provided below along with the location of the winning homes. Visit the DOE's website to learn more about the awards. Winning homes from previous years can be viewed on the DOE Tour of Zero.

2017 Housing Innovation Award Winners

Winners for Innovation in Affordable Homes
  • Capstone Homes, Flagstaff, Arizona
  • Habitat for Humanity of Catawba Valley, Hickory, North Carolina
  • United Way of Long Island, Huntington Station, New York
Winners for Innovation in Custom Homes (For Buyer)
  • Alliance Green Builders, Ramona, California
  • BPC Green Builders, Staatsburg, New York
  • Clifton View Homes Inc., Anacortes, Washington
  • Ferrier Custom Homes, Dallas, Texas
  • Garden State Modular, Lavallette, New Jersey
  • High Performance Homes, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
  • Imery & Co., Chamblee, Georgia
  • SD Jessup Construction, Tobaccoville, North Carolina
  • Mantell-Hecathorn Builders, Durango, Colorado
Winners for Innovation in Custom Homes (Spec)
  • Addison Homes, Greenville, South Carolina
  • Amaris Homes, Afton, Minnesota
  • BrightLeaf Homes, Brookfield, Illinois
  • Charis Homes, Uniontown, Ohio
  • Greenhill Contracting, Gardiner, New York
  • Thornhill Custom Homes, Dallas, Texas
Winners for Innovation in Multi-Family Homes
  • Revive Properties, Fort Collins, Colorado
  • Thrive Home Builders, Lone Tree, Colorado
Winners for Innovation in Production Homes
  • Charles Thomas Homes, Omaha, Nebraska
  • Garbett Construction, Sandy, Utah
  • Health-E Community Enterprise, Richmond, Virginia
  • Mandalay Homes, Prescott, Arizona
  • Revive Properties, Fort Collins, Colorado
  • Thrive Home Builders, Denver, Colorado