Skip to main content

2015 Holiday Wishlist

Thank you for your generosity and concern over this holiday season. United Way of Long Island's community partner agencies are seeking donations of goods and volunteer services to help needy families in your community.  Below is a list of the organizations seeking holiday donations and contact persons so you may contact those of interest. Requested items are generally new, but if donating “gently used” items, please ensure items are clean and in working order. Volunteer opportunities and agencies that operate Adopt-a-Family programs are also listed.

HOLIDAY GIFTS & FOOD

 

NASSAU COUNTY

Central Nassau Guidance and Counseling Services (Hicksville)
Contact Jeffrey Friedman 516.822.6111 x. 434 or jfriedman@centralnassau.org
Seeking new and gently used toys for infants – 14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new and gently used clothing for infants – 14 yrs./adult men & women, esp. coats, boots, gloves, hats, jeans, shoes and sweatshirts; holiday decorations; proceeds of coat drives.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Circulo de la Hispanidad (Hempstead)
Contact Silvia Gallegos 516.292.2433 x 118 or sgallegos@cdlh.org
Seeking new and gently used toys for infants – 16 yrs; proceeds of food drives; new and gently used clothing for infants, children and adult men/women; proceeds of coat drives. 

EPIC Long Island (East Meadow)
Contact Eileen Colletti 516.739.7733 x 626 or ecolletti@epicli.org
Seeking new game gifts (dominos, puzzles) for adult men/women; new clothing for adult men M/L/XL/2X and hats gloves, scarves, socks, pajamas; linens including towel sets and twin/full bedsheet sets.

Family & Children’s Association (Mineola & locations throughout Nassau County)
Contact Lisa Burch 516.746.0350 x 302 or lburch@familyandchildrens.org
Seeking new toys for infants -16 yrs. esp. educational toys/books in English & Spanish; new & gently used clothing for children & young adults 10-25 yrs. esp. winter shoes/hats/gloves/jackets/scarves; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; proceeds of coat drives; holiday decorations; diapers & formula.   Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Harbor Day Care Center (New Hyde Park)
Contact Deanna Cinelli 516.248.9855 or dcinelli@harborchildcare.org  
Seeking new toys for children 12 weeks–12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; new clothing for children 12 weeks–12 yrs. and for adult men & women parents; proceeds of coat drives; supermarket gift cards.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Hicksville Boys & Girls Club
Contact Thomas Bruno 516.822.7594 or hycbgc@aol.com
Seeking new toys for children 11-18 years, proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new hats/gloves/coats for children 11-18 yrs. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Hispanic Brotherhood of Rockville Centre
Contact Jenny Cepero or Kathleen Kurtis  516.766.6610 or hispanicrvc@aol.com 
Seeking new toys for children newborn-12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing & coats for children and adult all sizes; holiday decorations.

Hispanic Counseling Center (Hempstead)
Contact Pilar Bonilla/Teresa Maestre 516.538.2613 or pbonilla@hispaniccounseling.org tmaestre@hispaniccounseling.org
Seeking new toys for infants–12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for infants-18 yrs. and adults, esp. shirts/pants/shoes; proceeds of coat drives; holiday decorations; gift wrapping items (paper/ribbon/etc)

La Fuerza Unida (Glen Cove)
Contact Fatima Cano-Ramirez 516.759.0788 x 18 or fcano@lfuinc.org
Seeking new toys for children 5-12 yrs. 

Long Beach Reach
Contact Joseph Smith 516.889.2332 or jsmith@longbeachreach.com      
Seeking new toys for newborn-13 yrs.; new clothing for newborn-young adult; individual food baskets.

Long Island Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (Mineola)
Contact Lauren Laurore 516.747.2606 or llaurore@licadd.org
Seeking new toys for children 12-17 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new & gently used winter clothing for children and adults; proceeds of coat drives.

Parent Child Home Program (Garden City)
Contact Michelle Ioannou 516.883.7480 or mioannou@parent-child.org
Seeking new and gently used toys for children 2-4 yrs., especially children’s books.

Port Washington Children’s Center
Contact Veronica Casamassima 516.883.4864 or vcasamassima@pwchildrenscenter.org
Seeking individual food baskets; new clothing for children 3-14 yrs. esp. winter coats.

Woodward Children’s Center (Freeport)
Contact Gregory Ingino or Danielle Colucci 516.379.0900 or gingino@woodwardchildren.org dcolucci@woodwardchildren.org
Seeking proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new & gently used clothing for ages 6-21 yrs.; proceeds of coat drives.

YES Community Counseling Center (Massapequa)
Contact Mark Wenzel 516.799.3203 or mwenzel@yesccc.org
Seeking new toys for children all ages; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing; holiday decorations. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Youth & Family Counseling Agency of Oyster Bay-East Norwich (Oyster Bay)
Contact Barbara Rakusin  516.922.6867 or brakusin@yfcaoysterbay.org 
Seeking new toys for infants – 15 yrs.; new clothing for infants – 18 yrs.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

SUFFOLK COUNTY

Adelante of Suffolk County (Central Islip)
Contact Olga El Sehamy 631.234.1049 x 12 or oelsehamy01@adelantesc.org
Seeking new toys for infants-12 yrs.; individual food baskets; holiday decorations.

Association for Mental Health and Wellness (Ronkonkoma)
Contact Ruth McDade 631.471.7242 x 1329 or rmcdade@mhaw.org
Seeking new clothing for adult men (US veterans) esp. scarves/hats/gloves/socks/thermal underwear; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; proceeds of coat drives. 

Bellport, Hagerman, East Patchogue Alliance
Contact Clarine Boone 631.286.9236 or bhepclarine@gmail.com
Seeking new and gently used toys for children 4-15 yrs.; new clothing for children 4-15 yrs. esp. sweaters and coats.

Boys & Girls Club of the Bellport Area
Contact Danielle Perillo 631.286.9090 x 324 or danielle@bgcbellport.org
Seeking new toys for newborns - 18 yrs.; new clothing for newborns - 18 yrs.; holiday decorations.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Colonial Youth and Family Services (Mastic Beach)
Contact Ray Hopp  631.281.4461 or rhopp@colonialyfs.com    
Seeking new toys for infants -16 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing all ages. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

EAC Network (Central Islip)
Contact Andrea Ramos-Topper 631.439.0480 or artopper@eacinc.org
Seeking new toys for children birth – 17 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for teens esp. hats/gloves/sweaters/snow boots/sweat suits/winter gear; holiday decorations/trees/wrapping paper. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Family Life Center (Wyandanch)
Contact Jeanine Reynolds 631.920.5600 or jeanine.reynolds@familylifecenterli.org
Seeking new toys for newborns to 18 yrs.; holiday decorations and craft items for upcoming children’s holiday party.

Family Service League (Huntington)
Contact Lisa Jamison 631.427.3700 x 4610 or ljamison@fsl-li.org
Seeking new toys for infants–18 yrs.; new winter clothing for infants–18 yrs.; holiday decorations, gift paper; disposable diapers.

Federation of Organizations (Patchogue)
Contact Karen Leggio 631.447.6460 x 2125 or kleggio@fedoforg.org
Seeking new toys for infants-16 yrs.; new & gently used clothing for adult men and women; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; proceeds of coat drives. 

Gerald Ryan Outreach Center (Wyandanch)
Contact Noelle Campbell 631.643.7591 or ryanoutreach@optonline.net
Seeking new toys for infants –12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; new and gently used clothing for children all ages and adult men; proceeds of coat drives. 

Habitat for Humanity of Suffolk (Middle Island)
Contact Lindsey Ross 631.924.4966 x 114 or lindsey@habitatsuffolk.org
Seeking new toys for infants -14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for infants -18 yrs.   Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Long Island Against Domestic Violence
Contact Dawn Neilson 631.666.7181 or d.neilson@liadv.org
Seeking new clothing for adult women 18-45 yrs.; assorted holiday gifts for adult women; arts & crafts items; gift cards; paper towels & toilet paper.

Long Island Cares (Hauppauge)
Contact Robin Amato 631.582.3663 or ramato@licares.org 
Seeking new toys for infants – 14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets. 

Long Island Head Start (Patchogue)
Contact Carol Burnett  631.758.5200 ext. 140 or cburnett@liheadstart.org 
New toys for children birth-5 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing children birth-5 yrs. esp.  sweaters/pants/sweatshirts/coats/hats/gloves/mittens/socks/underwear/onesies and pajamas; toiletries and personal care items such as laundry/bath/dish soap, paper towels & toilet paper, diapers/baby wipes; toothpaste/ toothbrushes, sharing cream/razors; deodorant/lotion/perfume/shampoo; blankets/sheets/bath & kitchen towels.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Options for Community Living (Smithtown)
Contact Denise Waterhouse 631.361.9020 x 119 or dwaterhouse@optionscl.org
Seeking new toys for infants – 12 yrs.; individual food baskets; new gloves for all ages; store gift cards for moderate priced retailers; gas cards.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

The Retreat (East Hampton)
Contact Maggie Goldfarb 631.329.4398 or mgoldfarb@theretreatinc.org
Seeking new toys for children 4–14 yrs.; new pants/shirts for men & women and underwear for adult women; grocery store gift cards and gas gift cards. 

Skills Unlimited (Oakdale)
Contact Jaimee Romeo  631.567.1626 or jromeo@skillsunlimited.org
Seeking proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new & gently used clothing for adult men & women; proceeds of coat drives.  Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

United Way of Long Island – YouthBuild (Deer Park)
Contact Alex Medina 631.579.8981 or alex@unitedwayli.org
New toys for children infant-14 yrs.;  proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new and gently used clothing for boy toddlers; new clothing for adult men esp. underwear/gloves/pants & jeans/coats/hats/shoes; holiday decorations; men’s watches.


HOLIDAY VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

NASSAU COUNTY

Central Nassau Guidance and Counseling Services (Hicksville)
Contact Jeffrey Friedman 516.822.6111 x. 434 or jfriedman@centralnassau.org
Volunteers needed to sort & pack donated food; deliver food baskets; sort & wrap donated toys; distribute toys.

Circulo de la Hispanidad (Hempstead)
Contact Silvia Gallegos 516.292.2433 x 118 or sgallegos@cdlh.org
Volunteers needed to assist at a Holiday sit-down meal (date to be determined).

Hicksville Boys & Girls Club
Contact Thomas Bruno 516.822.7594 or hycbgc@aol.com
Volunteers needed to assist at a Holiday sit-down meal (date to be determined).

Hispanic Counseling Center (Hempstead)
Contact Teresa Maestre 516.538.2613 or tmaestre@hispaniccounseling.org
Volunteers needed to sort & pack donated food; sort & wrap donated toys.

Long Island Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (Mineola)
Contact Lauren Laurore 516.747.2606 or llaurore@licadd.org
Volunteers needed to assist at Holiday Party December 23 from 4-8 pm.

SUFFOLK COUNTY

Bellport, Hagerman, East Patchogue Alliance
Contact Clarine Boone 631.286.9236 or bhepclarine@gmail.com
Volunteers needed to deliver food baskets; sort & wrap donated toys; distribute toys.

Boys & Girls Club of the Bellport Area
Contact Danielle Perillo 631.286.9090 x 324 or danielle@bgcbellport.org
Volunteers needed to assist at Holiday Party on Saturday, December 19 from 11:30 am – 3:30 pm.

Colonial Youth and Family Services (Mastic Beach)
Contact Ray Hopp 631.281.4461 or rhopp@colonialyfs.com
Volunteers needed to sort & pack donated food; distribute toys.

Family Life Center (Wyandanch)
Contact Jeanine Reynolds 631.920.5600 or jeanine.reynolds@familylifecenterli.org
Volunteers needed to sort & wrap donated toys, distribute toys; assist at Holiday Party December 19 from 10 am – 2 pm.

Family Service League (Huntington)
Contact Lisa Jamison 631.427.3700 x 4610 or ljamison@fsl-li.org
Seeking volunteers to sort and wrap donated toys.

Federation of Organizations (Patchogue)
Contact Karen Leggio 631.447.6460 x 2125 or kleggio@fedoforg.org
Volunteers needed to assist with Holiday Lunch on November 26, 10 am-1 pm and December 25, 10 am–1 pm. 

Gerald Ryan Outreach Center (Wyandanch)
Contact Noelle Campbell 631.643.7591 or ryanoutreach@optonline.net
Volunteers needed to pack & sort donated food; sort & wrap donated toys.

Long Island Cares (Hauppauge)
Contact Robin Amato 631.582.3663 or ramato@licares.org
Volunteers needed to help sort & pack donated food.  

Long Island Head Start (Patchogue & locations throughout Suffolk County)
Contact Carol Burnett  631.758.5200 ext. 140 or cburnett@liheadstart.org 
Volunteers needed to assist at 22 head start centers with holiday activities during November and December.

The Retreat (East Hampton)
Contact Maggie Goldfarb 631.329.4398 or mgoldfarb@theretreatinc.org
Volunteers needed to sort & wrap donated toys.